Pastor Mike’s Minute Message: How Hard Could This Possibly Be?

Posted: July 16, 2014 in Pastor Mike's Minute Message
Tags: , , , ,

20140716-074559-27959561.jpg

But Jesus said again, ‘Dear children, it is very hard to enter the Kingdom of God.'” (Mark‬ ‭10‬:‭24‬ NLT)

I remember the first time I went indoor rock climbing. Little kids were scampering up the sides like cockroaches! So, with an adult smirk, I put on the helmet, fastened on the rope clip, and thought to myself, “How hard could this possibly be?” Halfway up, with cramps paralyzing my body and petrified of the height (Don’t judge me, 10′ is a loooong way up!), I managed to survive the ordeal while reminding myself that I was no longer a kid and would live longer if I remembered that.

Living the Christ Life appears very simple to do, but in truth, it’s very hard to accomplish. Even Jesus said so! But it’s not because of the rules or the sacrifice, like most people would think. The Christ Life journey is difficult because we can’t do what we want and live selfishly. Not being an addict or living free of hatred and guilt is actually quite nice! But saying NO to the “fun stuff” that brings on all that misery is hard when your flesh is wanting to say YES.

When I reached the top of the rock wall, it was actually a pretty cool view and felt good. While there are some parts to living for God that aren’t exciting or fun, the end result is always worth it. Don’t blame God for things, especially when we are the ones that make it all seem hard or boring. After all, if it was easy, everybody would be doing it! You are loved today! Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

