Pastor Mike’s Minute Message: Whoops, I Did It Again!

Posted: August 6, 2014 in Pastor Mike's Minute Message
Tags: , , , , ,

20140806-152501-55501631.jpg

Since you have taken off your old self…and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator.” (Colossians‬ ‭3‬:‭9-10‬ NIV)

A 12-year veteran of police work, Carole Moore has served in patrol, forensics, crime prevention and criminal investigations, and has worked with other agencies. She shared in an OFFICER.com article of a rookie mistake where she left her radio off accidentally, resulting in missed calls for an emergency and a subsequent manhunt to find her. In spite of it, she went on to become a seasoned and decorated officer.

We are our own toughest critic. When I make a mistake, I can be pretty brutal on myself. Paul says that we are “being renewed in knowledge”, meaning that I progressively grow as I learn, and failures make very good lessons! So while I may fail, I’m not a failure as long as I’m learning, which means I’m actually making progress.

So cut yourself some slack today! Grow in God through grace, just as the Bible says. Although you’ll never be perfect this side of the pearly gates, you can daily become better at living the Christ Life! Be kind to yourself! You are loved!

Leave a Reply

