Pastor Mike’s Minute Message: Admitting My Own Faults When I’d Rather Point A Finger

Posted: October 28, 2014 in Pastor Mike's Minute Message
Tags: , , , , ,

IMG_1349.JPG

For my people are determined to desert me. They call me the Most High, but they don’t truly honor me.” (Hosea‬ ‭11‬:‭7‬ NLT)

As I treadmilled and ellipticaled my body into painful submission this morning, the television at the gym was turned to national news. Between stories, hundreds of political ads beckoned uncommitted voters to choose their candidate. As the smear ads raced on, I realized that there’s not a single candidate running that’s not guilty of extortion, embezzlement, adultery, or some other illicit or illegal vice! At least that’s how all the local commercials portrayed it.

In our text, God calls us out on OUR hypocrisy. I say “our” because we can’t point fingers as they do in the campaign spots. I must stand on my own two feet before my God, just as you must, and give an account for how I behave. I have to realize that either I am or I am not doing the Christ Life right, and all that this realization may bring.

I love to vote and engage in my country’s wellbeing. But I hate having to settle for the lesser of two evils. Don’t live in such a manner that God feels the same way when looking at your life. Develop a non-hypocrite lifestyle that makes Jesus look real to everyone you meet! You are loved today!

Leave a Reply

