Pastor Mike’s Minute Message: God’s Way To Never Stop Improving

Posted: January 7, 2015 in Pastor Mike's Minute Message
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/3b3/61960519/files/2015/01/img_1559.jpg

For if you are trying to make yourselves right with God by keeping the law, you have been cut off from Christ! You have fallen away from God’s grace.” (Galatians‬ ‭5‬:‭4‬ NLT)

The last time I was at Lowe’s Hardware, I was thoroughly impressed. I’ve gone there for hardware and yard stuff for years and knew they help with things, but I didn’t know they held a whole slew of workshops! On any given Saturday, they were showing people how to lay tile, put up rain gutters, conducting lawnmower maintenance, and many other do-it-yourself jobs. Give me a year of Saturdays and I could probably build my own house!

What I can’t do, however, is make myself pleasing to God. The Christ Life is very much a partnership of God leading me and moving things around me while I simply wait on His leading and obey His biblical instructions. But if the “I” ever begins to overshadow the “He”, then I’ve veered into troubling territory. God is only honored by my waiting on Him, not by how I try to do right or work hard.

Do-It-Yourself (DIY) jobs can save you a lot of money and bring about great feelings of accomplishment. But be warned, what works at Lowe’s doesn’t necessarily work with the Lord! Being in His presence is of more value than being busy! You are loved today!

Leave a Reply

