Pastor Mike’s Minute Message: Are You Listening To Me?

Posted: March 22, 2015 in Pastor Mike's Minute Message
Tags: , , , , , , ,

  

Anyone with ears to hear must listen to the Spirit and understand what he is saying to the churches.” (Revelation‬ ‭3‬:‭6‬ NLT)

As I sat on the couch, reading something or other, my toddler daughter was talking to me about things that were on her little mind. As a dutiful Dad, I’d nod and give her an obligatory nod or say something like “Oh really?” or “Isn’t that interesting?” She finally came up to me, pushed aside my reading material, gathered my face in her tiny hands while staring deep into my eyes and said with the exasperation of a four year old going on fourteen, “Daddy! Are you listening to me?!”

Everyday, God is reaching out to us. He desires to teach, train, or warn in order to grow us. But He competes with our schedules, desires, conflicting priorities, and any other little thing that we can invent to throw in the way. Pretty soon we lay flat on our backs, run over by Life, and wondering why God isn’t right there giving us aid and comfort! Our hearts would scream, “Why didn’t you say something, God?!” And His reply would have to be, “I did, but you weren’t listening to me…”

As you come to church today, consider that He has been trying to continuously communicate with you all week. He has even gone to the trouble of putting together an outstanding worship experience just for you! Don’t let your life drown out and cause you to miss the most beautiful opportunity in the world: To sit with your Father and know that He hears you and that you hear His loving voice too! You are loved today! Come experience it for yourself!

Leave a Reply

