Pastor Mike’s Minute Message: The Day That Jesus Died For Me

Posted: April 3, 2015 in Pastor Mike's Minute Message
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

  

But God showed his great love for us by sending Christ to die for us while we were still sinners.” (Romans‬ ‭5‬:‭8‬ NLT)

June of 1986 was when Jesus died for me. A rebellious Church kid, the raised-right child of solid Christian workers, I wanted so badly those things that were denied me. So, on the night that school got out for Summer Break, I went to a party and rejected God. As my Mom and brother carried me in the house, reeking of alcohol, smoke, mud, and vomit, too drunk to stand, I hit bottom. Jesus died to save me that night. 

Many moments of failure dot the rugged landscape of my life, just as it does yours. But that was the lowest. This Sunday, I’ll be dressed in a suit, sharing the love of Jesus from a pulpit to whoever will listen, having the privilege to be a rural church Pastor. But none of my part of the Christ Life would have happened had I not acknowledged my low state that night, realized how lost I was, and been willing to turn my failed life over to a Savior that wanted the best for me, not to beat me with condemnation. 

As you prepare your heart for this weekend that we celebrate God’s great love for a people that don’t deserve it, remember that you are loved. It’s a love that will never quit and will always be reaching for you. Life won’t get better as long as we are in charge, just splattered with new messes. Let God have your life now so that your new & better life can begin! You are loved! Happy Easter! 

Leave a Reply

