Pastor Mike’s Minute Message: If I Had Only Listened To My Conscience…

Posted: May 13, 2015 in Pastor Mike's Minute Message
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

“So I strive always to keep my conscience clear before God and man.” (Acts‬ ‭24‬:‭16‬ NIV)

In 1991, a New Hampshire school administrator, Pamela Smart, had an affair with a 16 year old student, then convinced him to kill her husband. She was sentenced to life without parole. In an interview 23 years later, she admits not listening to her conscience:

“I was in a situation where I knew better. And I shouldn’t have made the decision that I did to be involved with him. It took me many years to see my own responsibility.” 

Our conscience is that ability within us that attaches itself to the highest standard we know, and then continually reminds us of what that standard demands that we do. If God’s standards are what I seek in my daily life, then those will be what I am, and should be, reminded of. So I must live in such a way that my conscience is clear towards both God and those around me by living to that higher standard, not intentionally sabotaging myself in a fit of selfish action.

When you begin to debate, stop immediately. When we argue with the Holy Spirit, we lose every time! If a stricken conscience is a cruel taskmaster, then find freedom that only comes from doing what is right! You are loved today!

Leave a Reply

