Pastor Mike’s Minute Message: I Taught My Son To Shave Today

Posted: July 8, 2015 in Pastor Mike's Minute Message
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  

“My child, never forget the things I have taught you.” (Proverbs‬ ‭3‬:‭1‬ NLT)

As I stood by the bathroom counter, I watched as my youngest teenage son lathered up his face, as I taught him. He wiped off the foam in sections so he won’t one day grow a beard that edges up underneath his eyelids, just like I told him. He gently pulled the sharp edges of the new razor across his face, not too soft or too hard and cut himself, as I instructed him. Then with a final rinse, we both looked into the mirror at a job well done. 

Having been a Youth Pastor, Substitute School Teacher, and a Little League Coach for quite a few years, I have noticed an alarming trend: Children being raised by absentee parents. Barring the exasperated single parent that works multiple jobs just to make ends meet, there are still too many children with present parents that rarely interact with their children, thus depriving precious young minds of needed wisdom and reinforced self-esteems. 

It’s not hard to find where they are turning for role models and life advice; those great pillars of genuine knowledge like Facebook, Instagram, the locker room, or whatever worthless Hollywood icon is opening their mouth to sound wise because they once portrayed a smart person in a movie. It’s no wonder that crime, suicide, drug use, violence, and pregnancy is continuously rising in this segment of American society! 

Children need parents and good role models to mold them into solid, virtuous adults. If you have a child, please pour as much of yourself into them. You’ll only get one shot to watch them grow! There was probably many things I needed to do today, but none more important than teaching my son how to become a man. Do right by your kids! You are loved today! 

Leave a Reply

